Sunday Sustenance: Mardi Gras Edition

We try to be healthy and we try to save money. One way we do this is by cooking at home. Most weeks I try to make all of my breakfasts and lunches, and dinners every night but Saturday. That’s a lot of quality time spent in my kitchen. I’m not going to pretend that this time is always enjoyed, most nights I’d rather crash on the couch with a drink rather than head into the kitchen. But I have developed a sense of pride in trying a new recipe and having it turn out awesome. Even better, when it is pleasing to both B, a hard-and-fast carnivore, and me, who would happily be a pseudo-veg/pescetarian. The latter is harder to come by.

My beloved crockpot: a wintertime mainstay on my countertop. Concocting delicious dinners with little effort on my part. Photo credit: Self

My beloved crockpot: a wintertime mainstay on my countertop. Concocting delicious dinners with little effort on my part.
Photo credit: Self

Knowing that our tastes vary so much, I don’t like to be left in a pinch. I started meal planning a couple of years ago and while it makes Sunday mornings kind of a pain, the rest of the week is pretty smooth sailing. I usually sit down Sunday morning and plot out the week before I head off to the grocery store. One of my favorite meal planning tools is Pinterest.  Not that I always find great recipes on Pinterest (Holy butter and anorexic “recipes”! Am I right?), but I can save recipes there from some of my favorite sites:

Cooking Light

Eating Well

Cheap Healthy Good

The Kitchn

Roasting Rambler

This week in honor of Mardi Gras, we are having this jambalaya and this corn bread on Fat Tuesday. Don’t worry, y’all, I’ll keep my source of protein to the shrimp:)

Photo one of a likely 3,000 of Moxley.Photo credit: Self

Photo one of a likely 3,000 of Moxley.
Photo credit: Self

Also, introducing Moxley! Don’t be fooled; I may pretend to be, but he’s the real boss of this house. I’m proud that I made it through THREE WHOLE POSTS without any pictures of him. He is as ready for Spring as I am. Please note that he has been licking the window trying to taste the sun. Ah, Midwest.

Do you meal plan? Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

