Sunday Sustenance… and Married to Medicine?

Hope you all had great weekends!

B kicked off his full-time Step 1 studying today, after a nice, relaxing Saturday. We took Moxley for a walk downtown and watched some NCAABB. March Madness is making its presence known in this house.

Hanging with my pup by.

Hanging with my pup boy.

I spent a good chunk of my afternoon in the kitchen. I like to get a headstart on the week when I can, making breakfast, getting dinners prepped. With B’s stressful couple weeks ahead, I decided to surprise him and made him lunch for the week. A blogger I love (read: my brother!) gave me this recipe for turkey meatloaf. It’s pretty healthy and will give B a good punch of protein while he’s studying away. And I gotta say, it’s pretty delicious!

Here’s the recipe!

J’s Turkey Meatloaf

1.5 pounds ground turkey brest
1 tbs olive oil
2 large eggs
1/3 cup barbecue sauce
1/2 cup finely chopped green, red, yellow, or orange bell pepper
1/2 cup finely chopped sweet onion
1 cup finely chopped fresh button mushrooms
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 cup dry bread crumbs, as needed (I’ve left these out before)

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. When you chop the vegetables make sure that you are basically mincing them – you want them to be very small – so that they match the texture of the meat.

That's some good mincin'.

That’s some good mincin’.

2. In a large bowl, combine the meat, eggs, and barbecue sauce, and mix well with a wooden spoon or rubber spatula. Stir in the pepper, onion, mushrooms, salt, and pepper, and mix gently. Slowly add the bread crumbs and mix just to thicken the meatloaf. The mixture should be moist and thick, but not firm and dry.

All mixed up.

All mixed up.

3. Line a baking pan with parchment paper. Place the turkey mixture in the pan, shaped like a log with a smooth top.

4. Bake until the meatloaf is cooked through but not dried out, about 50 minutes. Remove from the heat and let stand for 10 minutes before slicing to serve. Makes good leftovers.

Done and done!

Done and done!

Also, as I write I am tuned into Bravo’s new show Married to Medicine.

Via Google.

Via Google.

It hasn’t come to air without some controversy but after 35 minutes I feel confident saying that this is just a reworking of The Real Housewives with loose medical ties. And I can VERY confidentially say this is far and removed from my life or the real lives of those I know!

Have great weeks!

Leave a Reply

