Sunday Sustenance: Father’s Day and Grilled Pizza

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there! You know how little kids think their dads are superheroes? They are the strongest, fastest, smartest guy in the whole world? I believed it then, and even at 62, I believe it now. I love you, Dad!

My dad and I taking a stroll in Lima, Peru.

My dad and I taking a stroll in Lima, Peru.

Speaking of another great guy in my life, when my brother was up last weekend he gave me my birthday present: a pizza stone! Despite B’s under-appreciation for kitchen accessories due to the influx post-marriage, he was on board because, hey, more pizza! Pizza is one of those foods that pleases us both. He can have his loaded with meat and I can pile on the veggies. Everyone wins.

Now, as part of my gift, my brother also taught me how to make his “easy” pizza crust. Anything involving yeast intimidates me. Something about the rising and the kneading and the rolling. Quick breads, sign me up! I can bust those out easy-peasy. However, he assured me this would indeed be easy, so we gave it a go.

Doughy-goodness.

Doughy-goodness.

Much to my surprise, it was easier than I had expected! B and I tried it again on our own the other night and it was a success! Now, as my brother is a true at-home chef, he doesn’t operate in these things called “recipes” so I did my best to feverishly take notes as we went along. Here goes:

J’s Pizza Crust and Grilling instructions:

3 ish cups whole purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat
2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. sugar
1/4 tsp yeast

Start at 3 quarters of a cup of warm but not hot water.
Very sticky, very wet but still in a big ball.

Get a towel a little damp and lay it over the dough in the bowl. Let sit unrefrigerated. Check on it in about an hour. Needs at least 2 hours to rise before using.

Or, you can make the pizza dough the night before. Remove from fridge at least an hour before grilling.

How to make the sauce:

Add all of the below to a saucepan:

24 oz strained tomatoes
1 tb red wine vinegar
About 1-2 teaspoons sea salt
1 teaspoon olive oil
Turn to medium- low to reduce by about a fourth (about Half an hour)

To shape the crusts, spread flour in countertop and grab handful of dough. Start to shape and spread out with hands, then roll with a rolling pin. Cover wooden cutting board with flour and put crust on it to add toppings. This has to be done pretty quickly otherwise to crust will try and stick to the cutting board.

24 oz strained tomatoes
1 tb red wine vinegar
About 1-2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon olive oil
Turn to medium- low to reduce to about a fourth (about Half an hour)

Put the stone on the grill and Turn the grill on low for 5 minutes. Then turn heat up to high and let heat up for 10 minutes. Let grill get up to at least 500 degrees. Grill Pizzas for 5 minutes or until crisp.

Fresh grilled pizza and drinks on the patio.

Fresh grilled pizza and drinks on the patio.

Thanks, J! Hope all the dads have a great day. And yes, puppy-dad’s count too:)

BandMox

Leave a Reply

