Sunday Sustenance: Enchilada Cheat

I’m a pretty busy lady and sometimes you just have to get the food on the plate and onto the table. Don’t try to be fancy about it. That’s where this recipe came into play. I make enchiladas with some frequency, but one day when I was in a rush I decided instead of rolling those little babies I would layer it, like lasagna. Tastes the same, less work: I’ll take it. Plus there are always leftovers which means a night without cooking! Success!

Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchiladas

1 package corn tortillas

1 can enchilada sauce

1 can black beans (rinsed)

1 bunch green onions, chopped

Reduced fat shredded Mexican cheese. (I don’t really know how much cheese I use? I’m going to say ¾ a cup? As seems appropriate)

2 tbs. green chillies, chopped (optional)

½ cup cilantro, chopped (optional)

Grilled or broiled chicken, chopped

A jar of your favorite salsa, sour cream and/or guacamole.

 

enchilada

I start with a thin layer of enchilada sauce at the bottom of the baking dish so the tortillas don’t stick, then layer all the ingredients from there. I usually end up with five tortilla layers. After top tortilla has been layered, I’ll top it off with some more sauce and thin layer of cheese. Then I cover with aluminum foil and pop in the oven at 400 for 15 minutes. Then remove the foil and bake for 5 minutes more. Let sit for 5 minutes before serving. I serve with a big salad on the side.

I am aware that this isn’t a very precise recipe, but I think most people can figure out how to make layers of ingredients in a baking dish. I hope.

Leave a Reply

