Here We Go

Last week I had this text exchange with a fellow Widow:

 photo

Next week, B starts his surgical rotation. Known as the most taxing clinical rotation in terms of skill and time commitment, I have extremely mixed emotions about it. On one hand, I’m bummed that I will likely hardly see him for 8 weeks. I’m bummed that he can’t get the time off to come to my brother’s wedding. I’m bummed that we have to get our Christmas tree the day after Thanksgiving because it’s the only day he knows he’ll have the time. I’m bummed that B will likely be fully exhausted, physically, mentally and emotionally. But on the other hand, I am so soooo excited for him. B’s still got a few months to really hone in on specialties that he would want to pursue for residency placement. For a while now he’s been talking about surgical sub-specialties, but only anecdotally because he’s never really experienced it.  Now he gets to try his hand at it for a few weeks and see if it’s right for him. It’s going to be tough, but I think it will be worth it.

scalpel

via Google.

For me it’s the prime time to share stupid shows with friends to fill our alone time. And maybe we’ll get together, fold some laundry and drink some wine while we watch them. Woo, we get crazy!

See you at Christmas, B! I’ll leave leftovers in the fridge for you. And please leave your scrubs at the hospital – no unknown bodily fluids are welcome in our home.

xx

One comment

  1. Hi there, fellow medical significant other! I just stumbled across your blog, and I’m so glad that I did! My fiance is in his 4th year, currently interviewing for neurosurgery residency programs. So, needless to say, I have lived through the surgery rotation… and all the others.. and basically will live it for the rest of my life haha. I’m sorry he is missing your brother’s wedding, that is a total bummer! But, hang in there! As my mom likes to say “this to shall pass”. Good luck, and I look forward to keeping up with your blog!

Leave a Reply

