Since We’ve Been Gone Pt. 1: Midwestern Christmas

Hey y’all! We are back from our holiday honeymoon extravaganza!

photo 1 (5)

Our holidays were great! There were no books, no pagers, no white coats, just nice, quality times with those we love the most. Despite 8 years together, I finally met B’s paternal grandfather for the first time. He was ill at our wedding. He stormed the beaches at Normandy when he was 18 and chatted with us at detail about his experience and shared pictures from a recent return to France. It was so interesting to hear his personal stories. We had an awesome time with B’s family, just hanging out, reading books, eating good meals and walking the dogs.

hugegift

My dad won the Biggest Gift award. It was a fishing pole.

We had a great time with my family playing a round of “Who’s that Baby?” – a reflection of the fact that there seems to be a new baby every year, sometimes more than one. I got to see my grandma, many aunts, uncles and cousins. We enjoyed time at my parents with all the space for Mox to run around and low key nights in front of the fireplace.

photo 2 (3)

And, of course, we dressed up the dogs.

Mox in reindeer ears photo 2 (2)

We even had time to catch up with a few friends and hold hands with some babies.

photo 4

Our time with our families went way to fast, as always. We moved away six and a half years ago. When we lived out East and in the South, I would sit on the tarmac and cry as the plane pushed back from the gate. Now we have an eight hour drive to distract me at first, but that just means I cry while I unpack. I think that’s a good thing. It means I love home and the people occupy it.

photo 2 (1)

Hope your holidays were wonderful as well!

photo 3

Coming soon in Since We’ve Been Gone Pt. 2: The Trip

Leave a Reply

