The List is Made

One good thing about pursuing a residency in urology is that there aren’t THAT many programs to choose from. Then narrow that down even more by the Midwest region and the list grows smaller. BUT – take into account how competitive urology is.(the match rate is one of the lowest of residency programs in the US) and it expands a little.

B and I walked through this exercise a couple of weeks ago. It was surprisingly fast. I remember when he first told me he wanted to go to medical school and I flew down from DC where I was in grad school to spend 10 hours over the course of two days at a Panera pouring over the AMCAS book. There were spreadsheets and pros and cons and we were each issued a set number of vetos. (I vetoed South Dakota, he vetoed UC San Francisco). But this time, all it really took was an hour on urologymatch.com and a legal pad. Boom, done.

photo 2 (8)

Mox abstained from voting.

photo 1 (13)

I think part of that shift is that we are much more of the same page in terms of location this go around. Four years ago I wanted to stick to the Eastern Seaboard, NorCal up to the PNW or a few very select locations in the middle of the country. B wanted to be a stone’s throw from family and friends. At that point I wasn’t ready. (We did end up at one of the very select middle of the country locations, so we both won) And while I am sad that I will most likely never live in California or Seattle, as I had always imagined I would, I recognize that we are now at a point in our lives where being near family really matters. So while I foresee fisticuffs when it comes time to submit his Top 10 (I’ll want to go somewhere bigger, he’ll want to go somewhere smaller) having common ground to start from should theoretically make it smoother this time around.

Theoretically:)

Also, B was issued the Ice Bucket Challenge to raise awareness and donations for ALS. Being the sensible guy that he is, we saved our clean, safe-for-drinking water and donated online.

photo 3 (6)

Leave a Reply

